Thursday, March 8, 2012

2012-03-08 15:03 UTC Geomagnetic Storm has Started, Solar Radiation Storm Continues.

From the Space Weather Prediction Center:

The coronal mass ejection (CME) associated with the R3 (Strong) Radio Blackout event from 0024 UTC March 7 (7:24 p.m. EST March 6) arrived at ACE at 1045 UTC today (5:45 a.m. EST March 8).  So far the orientation of the magnetic field has been opposite of what is needed to cause the strongest storming.  As the event progresses, that field will continue to change.  Based on overall strength, the predictions for periods reaching the G3 level look justified.  Additionally, the Solar Radiation Storm levels remain above the S3 (Strong) threshold at this time, with values rising momentarily with shock arrival.  Region 1429 remains potent and subsequent activity is certainly possible. Updates here as conditions warrant.

For you Aurora watchers: Make sure you monitor the OVATION Auroral Forecast page for the latest updates on visibility opportunities.


UPDATE: As of 0130 UTC 03/09/12 Visibility will be minimal in the upper midwest with the possibility of clearing after 0600 UTC.

No comments:

Post a Comment